TheWaterbug
Greener Thumb

Other "Harvest Party" crops?

It seems like my Corn-U-Copia and Pick-and-Paint Pumpkin Patch Party are becoming annual events :)

Any suggestions for adding a 3rd annual harvest event? Criteria:

1) Kid friendly. The kids were not at all excited to attend an Asparagus-Palooza.

2) Instant gratification. I was looking forward to having a sweet potato dig, but then I find that you really should let them sit for 1-2 months to develop sweetness and flavor. I don't want people hanging out in my backyard for that long.

3) Fun. The kids will paint or carve pumpkins for hours, and the corn is usually good enough that people will take 2-3 trips down to the patch so they can eat more, take some home, etc. Corn can also be cooked in a variety of ways, which also adds to the fun.

4) Easy to grow. I'm still pretty new at this :D

Thanks!

imafan26
Mod

What about a watermelon mania

I'm sure you can think of something to do with water melons and water sports.

TheWaterbug
Greener Thumb

imafan26 wrote:What about a watermelon mania
I thought about melons, but I've had miserable luck with them so far. In two seasons with 4 vines I've gotten 1 edible watermelon, and it was the size of a cantaloupe.

I've gotten a few cantaloupes, but they were the size of softballs.

I tried growing softballs, but they didn't germinate ;)

I will try melons again this year, but I don't know if I'd grow enough to have a proper harvest party. If the timing is right I may just add them to the pumpkin party.

applestar
Mod

Do you want them to be annual crops? What about Very Berry Pick'n with cans of whipped cream, and condensed milk for the kids, nonalcoholic and alcoholic Smoothie and Margarita bars?

imafan26
Mod

I grow only sugar baby. It is an icebox watermelon, so it is bowling ball size. the yield is about 2 watermelons per plant.

The vines don't mind growing on top each other, they can be planted in hills. The vines are about 6 feet long.