Jessica052012
Newly Registered

How to eliminate lilies and honeysuckles to plant a garden?

I am new to gardening. I have always had houseplants and started a small container garden last year. Finally we bought a house with a suitable plot for a decent veggie garden. Im not sure where to start though.

We bought the house from an elderly woman that once had a flower bed in the back. It was neglected for years and someone put cardboard over it to control the weeds. We removed the cardboard last fall to see what we were working with and, lo and behold, it is a mess! There were lillies coming though the cardboard, literally hundreds. We removed as many as we could but there were still more. There are saplings coming up, some with 3" trunks. There was also honeysuckle that had taken over the forsythia(sp?) bushes that line one edge. I just don't know what I need to do to get this under control. I was told I needed to till it all but I have read that isnt always best and I am afraid of further spreading those remaining Lillies.

I really want to start my garden this year but Im not sure that will happen. TIA :)
“We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us.â€

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

How large of a bed are you talking about? Also is it in a spot where there is full sun? How far is it removed from tree roots? The reason I ask, garden veggies do much better in full sunshine, and tree roots can and do rob the plants of nutrients and water.

From what you say about the saplings, I assume it is near trees.

I might ask, is there another spot on your lot that is away from trees and that will have full sunshine? It may be better to till up a new plot for veggies, and just remove the saplings from the other plot and level it up and plant grass seed, then mow it.