jared185

raised garden bed advice needed

Hi I am new to gardening as some of you might already know from my other post on here. I have decided to go with a raised garden bed and I'm fonstructing it from concrete blocks with 4x10 dimensions. I was going to dig the area I'm putting it down an inch and put the block in and then concrete the block together with the concrete from a local hardware store that you mix. Now I was planning to put gravel in the bottom and about 8" of earthgro topsoil and earthgro manure mixed together. And I was planning on putting a seeper hose through it as well. Now here is my question is there anything else I should or need to do I'm planting vegetables so does this setup sound ok I already got the block and also the concrete.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Don't put gravel in the bottom. If your bed is only 8" high, the only way much will grow in it, is if it can put roots down in to the soil under the bed. Break up and loosen up the bottom well with fork and then put your topsoil + manure mixture on top of that.

I don't know about mortaring your blocks together, if they are solid concrete blocks. You want water to be able to seep out of your bed. You could mortar the blocks but be sure you leave some drainage holes. Or you can dry lay interlocking concrete blocks.

If you just have the one bed, I don't know why you would bother with seeper hose. Just water it. Keep it mulched and you won't have to water very often (maybe none if summer rains come).

imafan26
Mod

Dry laying blocks works fine. To help keep them in place use rebar and fill the holes with dirt. You can plant in the holes that way.

Water will easily pass between the blocks. I have seen gushers coming out of mine when it floods.

The blocks can shift over time. Mine got pushed by galangal roots.

When the blocks are dry laid you do not need a drainage layer, and you do want the roots to go down as far as they can.