QuakerBits
Newly Registered

Help with kale(newbie)

Hey guys(: I am planting Dino Kale and Vates.

I am a complete newbie in gardening, and although I searched and searched, and I can't seem to figure anything out for the next step(or maybe I'm just not searching right). I think the main problem is I didn't search enough before I planted them!

I've planted these seeds as you can see, 3 per square. Using organic soil, RO water, seeds are also organic. They sprouted in less than 2 days(most). I already feel the problem is not enough sun, and I possibly should have thinned these out earlier.

So I'm not sure what to do here? I just started to transplant some into that clear container(not sure if it needs holes on the bottom to drain water?), but I stopped and felt the need to ask someone. But compared to the videos I've seen.. I feel like I'm making a mistake or something. They've been growing for about.. 2-ish weeks now... maybe 3.

Sorry if any failure is a result of my lack of research!!

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

A warm welcome.

Here is "Seed starting basics for newbies". Have a look.
https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/v ... hp?t=44183

You may have to start over with better lighting.

Eric

Tonio
Green Thumb

Definately needs MORE LIGHT :D

Welcome & Good luck !!

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

Tonio,

I was trying to be gentle. kapeesh

Eric

Tonio
Green Thumb

Si Senior :)

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Welcome to the Forum. Glad you found us. Yes, your little seedlings are very thin and stretched from reaching to try to find light. As Eric suggested, read the thread about seed starting and then come back and ask questions as needed.

applestar
Mod

Since this is kale we're talking about, I'd also like to ask where the OP is located. Unless currently in subfreezing season or super hot season, kale could easily be sown directly outside.

QuakerBits
Newly Registered