gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb

What do you folks do with Ghost Peppers "Bhut Jalokias&

I'm fortunate? enough to have my Ghost Pepper plants that I put in this past September finally have several peppers mature. Now that I have them, I really don't know what to do with them.

I use Habs for making hot vinegar and the stuff I put up a couple weeks ago is throat burning. I can't imagine how hot the Ghost Peppers are since this is the first time growing them and I've never tried one before to know how miserable they can make you. I've seen the u-tube videos of people collapsing in agony when eating just a small bit of one, so I'm a little hesitant to take that option.

I only have 7 of them and they are not real big. I need some suggestions from those that use them so they won't go to waste. Any ideas???

ElizabethB
Super Green Thumb

Gumbo - about the hottest thing I grow are jalapenoes, cayennes and tabasco peppers. The cayennes and tabasco peppers are used in pickling. I can not imagine eating Ghost Peppers. Several years ago I bought a 6 pack of jalapeno plants. Low and behold this very strange looking pepper plant appeared in my garden. Looked like a small orangy/yellow bell pepper. HMM. Thought I would try it. Minced it up and put it in the roaster with a nice pork roast. Took one taste and thought I was going to die :!: Threw my lovely roast out :!: It was an Habanero. I know there are a lot of folks who like those super hot peppers - I am not one of them. Ghost Peppers? I would die first.

I know there are lots of recipes on line but I can't even look at the recipes without getting ill. A friend of Mom had a jelly shop in Breaux Bridge. She has since retired but she made a "Red Hot Jake" habanero pepper jelly when Jake Delhomme was "red hot". She had to wear a gas mask in order to make her jelly. How nuts is that?

Any who - if you want to eat ghost pepper you can find plenty of recipes on line. Personally I pass.

Merry Christmas to you and yours.

Jeremy brua