sawyer
Newly Registered

Help me lay out my vegetable garden

I am new to the vegetable gardening scene but have done some larger scale farming for wildlife (beans, corn, etc...). I have been browsing on here for a while and I am excited about getting my garden started. I am located in North MS (zone 8 ). I need some pointers on the best place to start my garden with the space I have. The picture below may be hard to see but hopefully it's enough to get an idea of my situation. We have two large dogs that I'm afraid will tear up the garden if I put it inside the fence but if that's the best option I may could put up wire fencing around it. I would like to start out with maybe just a 8' x 8' raised bed or something close to that. My initial idea was to put it just East of the house, between the house and the tree line but it may not get enough sun there. I am open to any suggestions. Please feel free to ask me questions if needed to understand my situation better. Thanks for any help you can give.

[img]https://i409.photobucket.com/albums/pp171/wrdabney/Untitled-2.jpg[/img]

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb

If you decide to go with raised beds don't make them wider than 4 ft. That way you can tend to the plants from either side without having to step on the soil in the raised bed. I only have one raised bed that I use for root crops and it is 12 ft. long x 4 ft. wide x 1 ft. deep. The rest of my garden consists of five rows 45 ft. long with a couple trellises for pole beans and cucumbers.

As far as location, place your garden where it gets the most sun since many plants like long sunny days, especially in the shorter winter days ahead. From your drawing, it looks like you have close to 30 or so feet inside the 6 ft. privacy fence. These dimensions are similar to my property and my garden does just fine inside my 6 ft. privacy fence.