k.kilgore
Newly Registered

Yard overrun by 4 ft weeds. How to ready it for next year?

Hi! First post here looking for some advice. I planted my first vegetable garden this spring and then promptly got hospitalized for the next 2 1/2 months. Long story short the baby and I are doing great but my garden, not so much. There are weeds everywhere! like 4 foot tall ones. What should I do to get the garden ready for next year? I started digging up some of the horrible roots and the top of the soil is bone dry but when I turn it over it feels moist, is super black, but is hard as rocks. Maybe it got too compacted? I just don't know since this is my first time around and I'd really like to deal with as much of this now as I can so it won't be a huge hassle in the spring. Any ideas or suggestions would be really appreciated!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

It would help to know how big your garden is. That would give a better sense of how much hand work is realistic.

I think the simplest thing would be chop the weeds down and let them lay there. Water well, cover with a layer or two of cardboard, making sure to overlap the seams. Water the cardboard well and then cover it with a couple inches of topsoil.

Let it sit until spring. By then weeds, cardboard and all should be well broken down and you can turn it all under and plant.

Incidentally, congratulations on the new baby, glad you are both doing well. Welcome to the Forum!
Twitter account I manage for local Sierra Club: https://twitter.com/CherokeeGroupSC Facebook page I manage for them: https://www.facebook.com/groups/65310596576/ Come and find me and lots of great information, inspiration

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb