Cheryl Litchfield
Newly Registered

Growing my Cabbages (HELP)

I am a first time grower of vegetables and with some of my vegetables I am having great success. But I am having a bit of a problem with my cabbages. I have protected them with a mesh closh and look after them regularly as my gardening book suggests. My problem is that the Savoy cabbage I planted don't seem to be doing anything. They have grown some leaves but do not seem to be forming in the middle at all. I have planted some other garden cabbage and red cabbage and they are coming along nicely.

Please could someone give me a little advice as to growing them as I am only learning and hopefully I wont make the same mistakes next year. Also when the bottom leaves have turned yellow I am removing them. Am I supposed to be doing this or is that causing my Savoy Cabbage not to flourish?

I would be really grateful for any advice you can give me,, :(
Bat monkey chatting..

GardenRN
Greener Thumb

A yellow leaf is only sucking energy from the plant. No problems I can see with pulling them. But I guess you could ask why it's turning yellow. Is it a part of the cycle? like with tomatoes? or is there a disease on the plant? IDK anything specific about savoys. But I would say if it's growing, let it do its thing. :)
Jeff

USDA Zone 7a, Sunset Zone 32.

Failure is only a fact when you give up.

applestar
Mod

I haven't tried growing savoys either, but have the feeling they are little more delicate than regular cabbages.

Different varieties take different lengths of time to mature. Do you know the days to maturity/harvest for the savoy cabbage variety you have? Compare with DTM for the other cabbages. That might be the only difference.

Yellowing could be watering issues. Too much or too little.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb