marcodiego
Newly Registered

growing in las vegas

Hi! I am brand new at the green thumb thing. I am starting 4 raised vegetable beds, 4 x 4, 1 foot deep. I need some advice on what soil to fill them with. The pre mixed Dr Q vegetabel bags are quite expensive at my local nursery.

Questions:

What soil should I be using in my bed? Local topsoil is alot of clay and sand.

Do I need to fill it all the way to the top, 12 inches?

thanks

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

I'm thinking 75% of your Clay / Sand and 25% compost would be a good start.

I would fill all the way to the top. It will settle anyway. Then add more later.

Eric

marcodiego
Newly Registered

u think I should use my own vegas soil? doesn't seem like a good mix for vegetables.

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

Yes I do. :wink: I feel it's always better to improve native soil than to truck in expensive top soil.

Take a look at this page. Slide presentation down the page.
https://web.extension.illinois.edu/homecompost/benifits.html

Eric

marcodiego
Newly Registered

thanks

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

What soil should I be using in my bed? Local topsoil is alot of clay and sand.
Native soils, most generally consist mostly of clay, silt and sand. Good place to start. Like Eric says add some compost and you should be good to go. Yes, those types of soils are what most of the worlds vegetables are grown on.

Clay is a very fine material. Small particle size. Silt has particles larger, and sand has particles even larger. Take a quart glass jar and fill it about 3/4 full of that local soil, then fill the jar with water and shake it up very well. Now set it down and don't touch until all the sediment settles. You should be able to see the layers of clay, silt and sand and get an idea how much of each the soil contains.

[url=https://websoilsurvey.nrcs.usda.gov/app/]Clark County Soils[/url]

Check this site and see what you can learn about the local soil.