aimeesh

This is my first attempt to grow my own food!

So i live in central california near the capitol.
i started this year with my first attempt at gardening. I planted Tomatoes, Squash, Basil, and Carrots... all container gardening, being in a suburb.

i figured out quickly that I made a mistake with squash, and didnt have the proper room to have it grow. it's still alive but small and not going anywhere.

today i discovered that what i thought was carrots was in fact not carrots at all O_o and i still don't know what it is that i have been caring for for several months. lol

also today I discovered white flies on my tomatoes, and possibly rot

so now i am praying my basil survives... ive eaten a few means now with this plant, so i at least accomplished that.

Basically, i have SO MUCH to learn. Ive never done this before and I can use all the help i can find. So i sought out a forum such as this one to talk all about vegetable gardening and learn from my mistakes and i gain more knowledge from more experienced growers :D

I want to give it a last go and try a few plants for fall, try carrots again, maybe another basil plant, some spinach, or anything else that will survive if started this time of year.

I hope to gain a lot from this place :)

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

Hi, fellow California gardener! Welcome to the forum. :D

I would like to strongly recommend Sunset's Western Garden Book *and* Sunset's climate zone system to you. The Sunset climate zone system is (IMHO) more important in California and other western zones--U.S. and Canada--than the USDA Hardiness Zone system, because Sunset allows for annual precipitation, summer max. temps, ocean influence or lack thereof, latitude and altitude, prevailing winds, and several other factors, whereas the USDA Hardiness Zone system considers winter minimum temperature only.