littlekrb

It's always something

The drought/heat here in Missouri is killing me! I have been fighting it off for a couple months now but here lately there's been some funky business going down.

1) all my tomatoes are cracking. It happens, I know, but they were so much prettier before! I am ashamed to share cracked ugly tomatoes with my friends.

2) my green beans have stopped producing. This is my first year growing these. Had what seemed like two spurts of lots of beans. Then nothing. Went from picking a dozen a day to maybe one or two. And they are curling now. Like the letter C.

3) I lost a couple peppers to what I think was sun scald and then one to what looked like blossom end rot. A couple of my newest jet stars had blossom end rot too but I sprayed the plants. Seems to have fixed that issue on subsequent fruits.

4) discovered today that I have aphids on one of my cucumber plants. I noticed and uptick in ants the last couple days and sure enough... I didn't mess with spraying the leaves. I just cut off any leafs with those eggs on the bottom. My plants are so huge I hardly made a dent in the foliage even though I cut at least a dozen leaves. I don't think there were any bugs yet though. How will I know if I got rid of them all? Btw, also have been getting a couple cukes here and there that are growing light colored with dark green freckles/strips. Others are the usual deep green. I can't find any pictures online that match it or explain it. Thoughts?

I'm hoping some of this has to do with constant 100 degree days and no rain in months (3/8 of an inch in the last 60 days) and not me just being a terrible gardener. I have a raised bed, I fertilize with organic fertilizer monthly, and I water pretty consistently.

luvthesnapper