User avatar
sheeshshe
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 8:17 pm
Location: maine

Faulty pH test kit?

Omgosh, I missed you guys so much! I've been going crazy these past weeks!

My daughter was in surgery and at the hospital for 4 days and I was bored silly and wanted to talk gardening LOL! sooo glad it is back yeah!


OK, so before all that, I got the pH test kit. I used the capsules and I did everything it said. I used distilled water. I then used rain water. I don't' think it is right at all. It says my native soil is 6.0. I have blueberry plants ALLLLL over my yard growing crazy. wild maine blueberries which have a soil pH need of 4.5 to grow. and the thing says that all my other places are 7.0 in my garden. I gave up because I honestly don't know if it is right or not. blueberry plants wouldn't grow wild and all over the place if the requirements aren't right, right??

Northernfox
Greener Thumb
Posts: 870
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 12:07 am
Location: Fort Saskatchewan Alberta

Oh my goodness I felt the same way. I posted an update tour of my garden and got few views. I thought I was not loved anymore :). I hope your daughter is alright!! Anywhoo to buisness :)

Home Ph kits are terribly bad. Their error rate is typically huge. If you really want to know what it is call an analytical chemistry lab. Ask them to run a Ph test on your sail. It will cost you but it will be accurate. Some county agriculture departments will do it for free but I live in Canada not so sure about the states.

You are right. Blueberries require very specific micro climates. Depending on the variety a small Ph change might kill them. You could be getting different Ph results in different areas depending on historic and current use, plants and water regime.

Northernfox
Greener Thumb
Posts: 870
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 12:07 am
Location: Fort Saskatchewan Alberta

Ps can you test the July 13th link in my signature. Oh and watch it I need friends

User avatar
sheeshshe
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 8:17 pm
Location: maine

well I got the test kit because I wanted to test about 10 different sites on my property. that would cost me $100. GAH!

I'll try and watch it when my computer is working correctly :)

Northernfox
Greener Thumb
Posts: 870
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 12:07 am
Location: Fort Saskatchewan Alberta

I am going to ask a friend of mine that works at a lab if there is a good way to test at home. :) I'll get back to you



Return to “Vegetable Gardening Forum”