mattie g
Green Thumb

Succession Planting Advice

Here's one for the braintrust that is hopefully fairly straightforward...

I've got a few places in my garden that should become free in the next few weeks: Two planters (12x12x27 - currently housing onions and shallots in full sun) and an ~15 sq. ft. in-ground piece of real estate (currently with garlic - 4-5 hours of sun).

I've never done succession planting before - I've only planted things like tomatoes and peppers and harvested them until first frost then pulled them, so this is all new to me. My wife is interested in sugar snap peas and I'd like to do soybeans for edamame - would either of these work in the space coming available? Otherwise, I'm open to any ideas of what I could/should plant once the alliums come out.

Thanks!

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Peas are really an early crop, or a fall crop. I don't know how well they would do during summer there. Cucumbers, bush beans, or corn would do well in the sunny place. I don't know how much time soy beans will need.
Last edited by jal_ut on Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Beans are a nice quick growing summer crop. I planted beans where I pulled spinach, lettuce, broccoli.

mattie g
Green Thumb

Thanks, jal and rainbow.

I was thinking that beans might be the best bet since they're fairly easy to grow. Would they do OK in a container the size I mentioned? How about in partial sun?

As for the peas, I could always just hold off on planting something in those places until it was time to plant them.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb