veggiedan
Cool Member

butternuts

Several questions about butternut squash. Firstly, how do you know they're ripe? I have big ones with no green lines anymore, and the color of the largest one is sort of off-white to light beige. Do I wait until it gets fully tan in color? I see advice about waiting for frost (well, I'm in the far south, so that ain't gonna happen) about waiting until they get heavy (um, they've been heavy for ages), and when they sound hollow when thumped ( I can imagine the largest ones sound a bit that way).

Secondly, while I have a number of fruit, I'm now back to getting JUST male flowers. While a plant is working on big fruit, does it avoid producing female flowers? That is, should I start getting more female flowers once I harvest some fruit? If so, that's another good reason for wanting to know when I can first harvest them.

This is my first time growing butternut,and I'm very impressed.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Did the package give you the number of days until maturity? If so, they should be ripe in that many days. Waltham Butternut is 95 days. I can suggest you pick one, bake it and see how it tastes. If you open it look at the seeds. If they are nice plump filled out seeds it is ready. Even if it is a little premature it will still be good eating.

veggiedan
Cool Member

Thanks. Well, I never go by the published "days until maturity" on the packages, because I live in a hot summer climate that is nothing like most of the rest of the country. Everything goes faster here. Whatever the package says, it's usually less than that. But let's say that 95 days is an upper limit. I had seedlings coming about about 75 days ago, so it's getting close.

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

Maybe I shouldn't assume, but I would say the same as all winter squash. Use the finger nail test. Can you dent the stem at the fruit with your finger nail?