missamyck

Weed or Cucumber?

I'm a newbie gardener (so sick of prefacing all my posts with that :) ) and where I'm planting is a haven for weeds of all shapes and sizes...I'm talking ridiculous amounts of weeds.

I planted one big mound of peas and 3 smaller mounds of cucumbers surrounding it. My peas grew beautifully but I just couldn't determine if cucumber leaves were growing, until recently. I've looked up images of cucumber plants and came across something very similar to what I have here, but the question is, "Is it a cucumber plant?"

I know they sprout little yellow flowers so I could just wait and see, but I'll feel pretty foolish if I'm harboring a weed this whole time.

Any ideas? Thanks!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/62188924@N ... hotostream

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

Morning glory. Better pluck those unless you want the vines growing everywhere!
Eclectic gardening style, drawing from 45 years of interest and experience. Mostly plant in raised beds and containers primarily using intensive gardening techniques.
Alex

missamyck

aw darn, not the answer I was looking for, thank you though! It amazes me how you could tell, this plant looks just like pictures I've seen online of cucumber plants. I honestly don't see a difference.

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

Cucumber leaves are not nearly as much smooth heart shaped as they are blocky heart shaped. The edges of the leaves are more irregular or jagged. Also the stems of a cucumber plant are much thicker with a light green color.

Eclectic gardening style, drawing from 45 years of interest and experience. Mostly plant in raised beds and containers primarily using intensive gardening techniques.
Alex

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

BTW, beautiful twins (I assume) at your flickr site.
Alex

missamyck

these pictures are incredibly helpful, thank you! I can actually see the difference.

I'm going to try planting some more cucumber seeds this weekend; hopefully they'll grow into beautiful plants :)

mattie g