funingarden

Suggestions for Growing Spinach?

I just planted spinach seeds two days ago. this is the first time I am trying to grow spinach any suggestions on growing spinach for a first timer with it?

LLandry11

Well, I planted my first garden last year, so I am by no means an expert.
However, spinach and lettuce were pretty easy. Really didn't have to do much at all, except eat it! Just keep picking/eating the outer leaves and you'll have spinach for weeks! Enjoy!

funingarden

ok thank you

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb

funingarden wrote:I just planted spinach seeds two days ago. this is the first time I am trying to grow spinach any suggestions on growing spinach for a first timer with it?
Not sure how warm your summers get in PA but spinach and lettuces really don't care much for heat and will go so seed (bolt) quickly when the conditions are right.

I live in the deep south and my lettuce has been in the ground for several weeks now and I'm harvesting many leaves for salads and I have so much, I'm giving some away. However, it is getting into the mid 80's almost daily now and that won't last much longer.

You obviously like spinach so you may want to try some Swiss Chard as a substitute if the spinach fails. It is more tolerant of heat and grows leaves much larger than the standard spinach plant. I use it as a spinach substitute for things like lasagna, in salads and smothered down with a little onion and garlic.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Agree with the swiss chard suggestion; it's my favorite thing to grow! Use it anywhere you would use spinach, raw or cooked. It just grows and grows all season, while the spinach tends to bolt and go to seed as soon as it gets really warm.

But in the meantime, once hot weather comes, your spinach will last longer with some shade.

funingarden

thanks everyone, I'm actually trying to grow this for my brother so we will see how things go although more suggestion and all will be helpful

klevelyn
Cool Member