DiJon
Newly Registered

Why did you start gardening?

While browsing some garden and food blogs, I came upon some statistics about how many new veg gardeners there are. The timing of the uptick from 34% of us households growing veg in 2009 to 54% in 2010 coincides almost directly with the fall of Lehman Brothers, kinda interesting. I can say that the economy was definitely the reason I got interested in gardening, but not to save money. Work as a farm hand seemed to be the only non-service job I could get when I graduated in 2009, I thought it was a fall back, but it became my leading passion in life. What got everyone here into growing their own?

SOB
Green Thumb

My parents always had a garden growing up and when I got my first home it seemed like the right thing to do. Living in an apartment before I had tried growing a few things in containers but having a yard I put in a small garden. That year seeing these little plants grow to be large, fruit producing plants was very gratifying. My garden has doubled in size ever since and my wife thinks I'm obsessed now :)

Royiah

I started becuase It can save on food costs. Fresh veggies cost alot if it makes up most of your meals compared to others who buy mostly prossesed foods.
I also do it for fun and exercise. When I'm not at work I'm inside on the computer doing stuff. So having a garden is another heather way to spend my free time. :wink:

orgoveg
Green Thumb

My mother always planted flowers, ornamentals, and trees around the house and I always helped whether I wanted to or not. In 1996, when I bought my first home, I was excited to have my very own back yard and I wanted to grow things I could actually eat - the flowers just felt like a waste of time (in my young mind back then). I had a small patch of veggies for a couple of years and then decided it wasn't worth all the work.