DiJon
Newly Registered

Farmer turned Gardener needs general advice

Hello, I am new to the forum, just introduced myself [url=https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=247308]here[/url]. I am new to gardening and to growing in the pacific northwest, However I have spent two season on small CSA veg farms recently.
From poking around gardening books and forums, it seems that gardening is quite a bit different than farming. Mostly because if I only plant a few tomato plants, I have too care a lot more about each of those plants than if I plant four 350 ft rows of tomatoes. I am also new to year round gardening such as is possible here in mild Oregon.
So, my first question to the forum is this: what troubles should I most avoid in my first year as a gardener? I know a fair bit about pest and disease management from my farm work, also I can manage those sorts of problems as they arise (assuming proper care has been taken in planning). I am most concerned right now with what people here have found their biggest problems as gardeners that they have control over I.e. not weather or pest related. Does that question make since? I hope it does, for me the biggest thing right now seems to be planning succession schedules so that I can be producing food all year. Thanks for your responses and happy growing.

digitS'
Super Green Thumb

Jon, I just said hello to you over on the introduce yourself forum :wink: !

You are coming from the Boise area, if I remember right. That's quite a change in climate even if some folks think that Idaho is in the Pacific Northwest . . . more like the Inter-Mountain West, I think.

You may be able to have vegetables in your Portland garden 12 months out of the year but there won't be too much winter growing going on. You will be north of the 45th parallel so the sunlight will be coming low in the south and then, it's Portland! There won't be all that many sunny winter days.