ebarrett08
Newly Registered

new: need help selecting plants

Hi,
I am renting a new house in Southern California that has 4 raised beds in the back yard. I am new to gardening and looking for some suggestions on what to plant and/or how to start. We are moving in May 1st, so I think that is a little late to start a garden, but we have no choice. I have a 3 year old daughter, so I though some vegetables would be fun for her. I would definitely like cherry tomatoes, other than that I'm open to suggestions. Looking for something easy for a beginner and rewarding for a 3 year old. Thanks!
[img][img]https://i477.photobucket.com/albums/rr136/barretts08gmail/LocustHarrison004.jpg[/img][/img]

SPierce
Greener Thumb

Tomatoes are always fun- perhaps add in an extra variety, like a chocolate tomato or a mortgage lifter for bigger tomato to go with your cherry ones?

I also always love watching Zucchinis grow, and pumpkins too!

lorax
Greener Thumb

In your cooler months you can grow lettuces, which are ridiculously easy and rewarding, but once it comes summer you'll need crops that are more heat resistant. Radishes come to mind (and your daughter will love them - they take a month from planting to harvest), as do carrots, beets, and chard (all of which are low maintenance, plant and forget until harvest type things. They can all be started now.) A small patch of potatoes might be an idea as well - I remember being completely enthralled by digging potatoes with my grandfather when I was about 3 or 4 years old.

You can also plant annual fruit - strawberries are a great one since you can get them as bedding plants, which makes putting them in very easy. What's the shrub at the back of the yard? And the tree? (If you don't know, you can post us closeups in the Plant ID forums and we'll tell you) You may already have some perennial fruit production going on back there.