loveykatie

New to gardening - need help with basics!

I would love some guidance!

1) What tools do I need to buy right away? I've never done any gardening before, and I don't own any equipment - including: a hose, a shovel, gloves, seeds, soil, etc...

2) I am thinking of doing about a 20 foot x 6 foot garden and I don't know where to start at all.

When we went to look at the place last, the grass looked very over grown and not very green. I don't know what that says about the soil, but I'm wondering where I should start.
I am thinking of doing squash, cucumbers, peppers, tomatoes, and eggplant. Also I was thinking about mixing some flowers in as well.

Could someone break it down for me and tell me step by step what I should do and what I need to buy. That would be great!

I should add that I'm living in Baltimore, MD.

Thanks!

Allegre Nee

I do square foot gardening. If you're not sure what your native soil is like, perhaps you would want to do some square foot garden boxes along your 20' area? And maybe a compost bin.
The soil where I live is horrible. I dug about a million foot-high weeds out of a 25'x25' area in my backyard only to discover that the previous tenants had put gravel all over the area and unless I put in YEARS of work, the area was totally unusable for gardning. I was so bummed. We ended up putting in some square foot garden boxes and bought soil, compost, etc. to fill them and I am really pleased with the look and the results.

PenPalAnna