HonoluluGirl

Something ate my bell pepper

Something is eating my bell peppers. I turned the biggest bell pepper over to discover that the entire bottom half was gone! :shock: It looks like little bite marks (maybe rats or do bird pecks). We have no rabbits in Hawaii. What do I do to protect my garden? I'm growing soy beans also, but they're sill small and haven't produced any beans yet. Thanks!

soil
Greener Thumb

did you get any other peppers?

applestar
Mod

In addition to animals, it could also be Tobacco or Tomato Hornworm if you have them in Hawaii.

HonoluluGirl

There's another smaller pepper that I wrapped with a mesh which is actually the mesh fabric bag I use to wash my pantyhose. ha ha. I didn't have anything else to use.

The second bell pepper plant (I have 2 plants) just finished flowering and will be producing peppers soon.

I don't know anything about bugs/worms/etc, but the bite marks look like rat-sized teeth marks or bird-sized beak marks. This is my first time gardening.

soil
Greener Thumb

This is my first time gardening.
expect casualties, but learn from them.

HonoluluGirl

[img]https://i1175.photobucket.com/albums/r634/TemporaryPerson/th_bellpepper.jpg[/img]

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

You mentioned that you "turned the pepper over" and found the damage, so I'd guess a rat. I know they're a problem in Hawaii, having no natural predators there.

Francis Barnswallow
Green Thumb

hmmm, noticed my pepper (been growing it forever) today and it's turning that beautiful red color. After reading through this topic, I now have the urge to pick the pepper. :|

HonoluluGirl

I found this rat zapper product online (https://www.ratzapper.com/). Has anybody tried this?