Pauline200
Newly Registered

Rhubarb

Hi, I'm relatively new to Helpful Gardener but am finding it very useful. I have decided to try and grow veg in containers as last year I had some success with potatoes. (Hope it wasn't a fluke.) I have planted two crowns of rhubarb (Champagne) one in a pot and one in a small bed I was groing flowers in. Has anyone any advice on growing rhubarb either in the soil or in pots. Many thanks in advance.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Rhubarb is basically quite easy to grow, drought tolerant and pretty tolerant of a range of soil pH. It prefers slightly acid soil, but mine isn't and it does okay. Mostly it is plant and forget. Mine isn't thriving as well as it could because the location it is in is too shady (a chronic problem in my wooded lot). The rhubarb likes a lot of sun.

I have no idea where in the world "Hull" is, perhaps only revealing my ignorance. But rhubarb likes coolish growing areas, where it has at least 6 weeks of winter below 40 degrees (and it's quite tolerant of colder) and not too hot or dry in the summer. If I had to guess, I'm guessing you are in England, just because it seems to be usually the UK folks who think that putting up one word is sufficient locating. :) If so, it should be perfect climate for it, cool moist summers.

Don't pick any the first year. It needs to get established first. And don't over pick the second year.
Last edited by rainbowgardener on Sun Feb 26, 2012 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Rhubarb grown in the ground has a fantastic root system.