Susa

slow growing lettuce

Hello! I am fairly new to gardening and am having some issues with my lettuce. I'd love any suggestions!
I sowed romaine seeds on December 20th. When they were apprx. 2" tall I transplanted into a double dug bed, amended with composted horse manure, sulfur, and have been feeding them with a seaweed fertilizer (this fertilizer is 0-0-10, something I chose because a soil test showed a very high level of phosphorus, but very low potassium, and I assumed the manure would be a sufficient amount of nitrogen).
The lettuces are still small, none taller than 4". I thought it might be due to the intense heat we were having here in north florida, but the variety is supposed to be more heat tolerant than others.
Any advice on what I could try?

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

I would give it some more time, but in the meantime plant some Chard seed close to it. The chard will do better in the heat. Beets would be good too. If that lettuce doesn't do anything in two weeks, you may as well pull what there is and eat it.

Welcome to the forum.

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

Arugula tolerates the heat much better than lettuce. If you like the somewhat peppery flavor, arugula is great in salad greens.

Also, if you are willing to go to the trouble, placing some 40% or 50% shade cloth so the plants avoid direct noon to afternoon direct sunlight, you may squeeze a few extra weeks out of the lettuce.

Susa

Thanks for the tips. We've been getting some cooler weather and a ton of rain here, and, surprise, the lettuce is now growing quite rapidly! :-()

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb