jj79
Newly Registered

First Time Gardener

Hello all,

I am a complete novice, first time gardener, so please bear with me if some of my questions seem ridiculous :)

Anyway, my wife and I recently moved to Nashville, TN (which I understand is in zone 6B?) and would like to start growing some of our own vegetables this spring. Our new home has a space where a previous resident had a garden; it is approx. 16'x16' and is bordered by what look like railroad ties. Everything I have read up to this point has recommended starting small, so I think this space will work for a first try...

While the garden area isn't covered in actual "sod", it does have a covering of grass, etc. probably 1 1/2" deep. My first question is this: do I need to follow the steps I have read for preparing a new garden I.e. "removing sod" etc., or should I just try to turn this covering under the soil? I have no idea how long it has been since the garden was used; hopefully someone can give me some advice on how to proceed?

We do want to grow these vegetables using organic methods and are looking forward to getting started. Thanks in advance for all advice!!

-JJ

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

You are a person right after my own heart. Yes, turn the sod into the soil with a shovel and break it up a bit. It's a bit of hard work but, your soil and therefore your plants will benefit in the long run.

Plant your rows of vegetables but, I recommend doing a little research on the internet by typing "companion planting" into google and research what plants benefit one another and which plants harm one another. Then, to keep your soil nice and healthy (and therefore your plants) interplant companion plants in your rows (for instance, beans, peas and corn along with squash).

Plant flowering plants in your vegetable garden as well (perennials work well but, some annuals are great too.) to attract beneficial insects (we have a thread on what plants to plant to attract different insects).