greenstubbs

Artichokes not choking

I've been growing chokers for about 10 years. My first plant I had for about 7 years and produced nicely. I removed it just to shake things up and didn't have one for a few years. I'm on my second plant that is going into it's second years. I cut it back last fall and it has regrown but I'm not geting any chokers on it and it should be full of them. The plants healthy but not very big. I've done nothing different to or with it. I'm debating on weather to just give up on it and use the room for something else? Maybe I'll wait till I really get going in the garden to decide? I'm just stumped as to what's up, ideas?

GardenGnome
Greener Thumb

[img]https://i1268.photobucket.com/albums/jj565/ericmgilson/2012-02-03_10-15-25_637-1.jpg[/img]

Mine are around 2 to 3 feet and I don't see the stem or chokes.
And there acouple years old. If your not pressed for space id wait.
Id wait for someone with more info on them to answer your post.
The weathers been so odd I live up above you in ca.
I don't even think my plants were like that last year.
At this time we should be getting rain and alittle snow.

greenstubbs

Yea, mine about that size, maybe a little bigger. They really are a beautiful plant that really doesn't take alot of work to grow. Come to think of it, it has been a goofy winter. Some of the trees are already starting to flower and there was a article in the paper that the farmers are worried that if they pop and then get our heavy rains that the harvest will be real bad. Farmers are never happy!

GardenGnome
Greener Thumb

Yeah id be worried to if all my money was on the line.
The people should be worried if there's no fresh fruit.
What's your garden space.
Ever hear about square foot gardening by mel bartholomew?
He tells you how to get the most of your space .
I think I saw some posts about on here.
I don't think are plants are ready to choke I think they need to get bigger.

GardenGnome
Greener Thumb