DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

Your Favorite Potato

We probably already covered this topic, can we do it again. 8)

I'm looking at maybe 3 varieties.

Some I'm considering are,

Kipfel (Kipfler) Fingerling ( 120 days Yellow skin - yellow flesh )
Sangre ( Early-season 70-90 days Red skin- white flesh )
Yukon Gold ( Early-season 70-90 days Yellow skin - yellow flesh )

What say you?

Eric

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Red Pontiac is better than Yukon Gold. I have not tried the other two you mention.

The Russet types are great too. Idaho is famous for its russets. This is also better than Yukon Gold.

IMO

[img]https://donce.lofthouse.com/jamaica/potato_1.jpg[/img]
Gardening at 5000 feet elevation, zone 4/5 Northern Utah, Frost free from May 25 to September 8 +/-

soil
Greener Thumb

my favorite that i grow has to be the purple viking. amazing color, flavor, texture, everything.

i also like a red potato that ive been growing for a few years, not sure on the name but they get very big. like jals in the photo.
For all things come from earth, and all things end by becoming earth.

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

Kipfel (Kipfler) Fingerling ( 120 days, Yellow skin - yellow flesh )
Sangre ( 70-90 days, Red skin- white flesh )
Yukon Gold ( 70-90 days, Yellow skin - yellow flesh )
Red Pontiac ( 80-100 days, Red skin - White flesh )
Purple Viking( 80-100 days, Purple skin - White flesh )

Red Pontiac is was popular here in Washington. How well do they store? One site recommends them for new potatoes and fresh eating.

Soil, How many generations on the red unknown? Any deterioration?

Eric

lorax
Greener Thumb

Good luck finding any of these, but:

Oro Morado (multipurpose) - 100-120 days, purple and gold skin, pale flesh, about halfway between waxy and starchy
Atahualpa (multipurpose) - 90-110 days, red and gold skin, gold flesh, a touch on the waxy side
Super Chola (frier) - 90-120 days, red skin, gold flesh, waxy