orgainc mommy
Newly Registered

Hurricane-Proofing my Garden?

I have been gardening for a few years but have not yet been tested by a hurricane at really any level. I have weathered (haha) some stong thunderstorms, but not yet a hurricane. I am about 80 miles inland but with Hurricane Irene heading our way this weekend, I would like to know if anyone has any ideas about protection of my garden from the high winds.

For context, my garden is comprised of raised beds and in-ground beds (about 15 total), covering about 1/3 acre, with all varieties and heights of vegetables.

Any advice?

Moley
Cool Member

I am using motorcycle tie-downs to secure my pot ghetto to the deck, I removed or moved anything that may have a chance to blow away and damage the garden or the house. (chairs, buckets etc)

I think just some simple common sense will help in prevention of unwanted destruction, but like Murphys law, stuff can and will go wrong, we can only hope to be prepared.

Francis Barnswallow
Green Thumb

I used a blue tarp and then stapled it (heavy duty staples) to the garden itself. It took around 250+ staples to keep the tarp down. Hours later I had 107+ mph winds and it worked like a charm. Just make sure to staple all potential openings in the tarp. If wind gets into one of those openings the tarp will act like a parachute and will fly off the garden.

And be thankful it won't hit as a cat. 3 or higher.

Check this site out regarding Irene. Very informative.

https://classic.wunderground.com/tropical/tracking/at201109.html

RyNJ
Cool Member

I'm gonna be in Irene's path, too, and I think I'm gonna just prune what can be pruned, and add secure supports to all my taller plants. With my leaf lettuce, kale, broccoli, herbs, zukes and stuff, I'm gonna put a post on each end of the row and run some twine between the posts on each side of the row to help keep the plants up and avoid breaking.

Ladybug027