elizaaabeth

Will this work as a trellis?

I've been lurking around here for a few weeks now, and seeing as I sowed my cukes today, I thought I better ask this one. This is my first year getting a bit serious about my vegetable garden (I mean, rather than just sticking some seeds in the ground and hoping for the best :roll: ) and so I'm trying to utlilize my space the best. I was thinking of doing cukes, watermelon, rockmelon and maybe pumpkins in pots and growing them up the fence. However the fence poles are pretty thick, maybe 2-3cms in diameter. I was thinking of putting some garden twine up horizontally...will this work or will I have problems?

[img]https://i164.photobucket.com/albums/u3/berru_photos/2011-08-25171045.jpg[/img]

Also, today I realized the truth in the idea that tomatoes will grow just about anywhere...whilst pottering round the garden this afternoon I saw something sticking out of the lawn. I wandered over, and lo and behold, there were maybe half a dozen tomato seedlings, the tallest standing about 15cm and not looking all too unhealthy. The 'lawn' is maybe 2 by 6m and pretty much dedicated to the dogs waste. I have 2 medium size dogs...so there's a fair bit of it. I occasionally give them the tops of tomatoes when they're bugging me in the kitchen, so I figure these must have gone in one end and out the other...and they're doing better than the lawn :x [img]https://i164.photobucket.com/albums/u3/berru_photos/2011-08-25171004.jpg[/img]

Gary350
Super Green Thumb

Painted square tubing is fairly slippery I'm not sure the vines can climb that without slidings down. Vines will not climb bamboo and other slippery things. You might need to buy some himp twine at the garden center tie it to the top rail then twist it around several 2 or 3 square tubing then tie it to the bottom rail so the vines have something to hang on too while they climb.
Last edited by Gary350 on Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Fig3825