brooklyn boy
Cool Member

Can bees pollinate female flowers without male flowers?

(I'm a beginner from the city so my question might seem a little dumb)
anyway can/do bees stimulate female flowers to grow veggies without transferring pollen from the male flowers just by going in to the female flower and tickling it ?

garden5
Super Green Thumb

In the strictest sense, no. Pollenation requires pollen from the male flower PART to be transferred to the female flower PART.

Now, sometimes these parts are on separate flowers, like pumpkins and squash for example. Other times, they are on the same flower, like with tomatoes, peppers, and eggplants. When they are on the same flower, all a bee (or you) really has to do is to crawl around on it so that there is a transfer from one part to the other.

Some flowers, like beans, have the male and female parts on the same flower and often pollinate themselves before the bees even show up.

I hope this answers your question :).

brooklyn boy
Cool Member

garden5 wrote:In the strictest sense, no. Pollenation requires pollen from the male flower PART to be transferred to the female flower PART.

Now, sometimes these parts are on separate flowers, like pumpkins and squash for example. Other times, they are on the same flower, like with tomatoes, peppers, and eggplants. When they are on the same flower, all a bee (or you) really has to do is to crawl around on it so that there is a transfer from one part to the other.

Some flowers, like beans, have the male and female parts on the same flower and often pollinate themselves before the bees even show up.

I hope this answers your question :).
thanks for you answer :D just out of curiosity if a flower gets pollinated from a different type of plant will change some thing like the taste?

Moley
Cool Member

brooklyn boy wrote: thanks for you answer :D just out of curiosity if a flower gets pollinated from a different type of plant will change some thing like the taste?