captainobvious
Newly Registered

Transplanting Questions, Need Advice Please

Hi, I am new to gardening, and am very upset. I put out a garden of my own for the first time this year, only to find out a few days later that we have to move. I have invested well over 100$ in my garden, and I was wondering if *by chance* I could dig up any of my plants & transplant them at my new house? I have about 1/2 dozen tomato plants, 1/2 dozen green pepper plants, 1/2 dozen cucumber plants & 1/2 dozen strawberry plants. I bought these as small plants from a local nursery, and I already have some cucumbers & strawberries, but no tomato or green peppers yet since we had to wait on planting because it rained for a month straight & they would have washed away. I also have a few pumpkin plants that were grown from pumpkin seeds that have started to flower. We have until *hopefully* end of August/ 1st of september but no later then that. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated, Thank You :)

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

First of all, I will say that removing plants from the property is illegal where I live. Some people choose to do it, anyway, I'm sure, and while many probably get away with it, I personally know one woman who was required to "restore" the property to the same condition it was in when the buyer first looked at it. That cost her a couple thousand dollars, as I recall. So, you might want to find out whether the law in your area says anything about removing in-ground plants from a property that's being vacated.