marley01
Newly Registered

Help with my kohlrabi+beets??

Hi, I'm new. And a new gardener too, this is my first year. I am having trouble with my kohlrabi and beets. They are in a good soil (my grandfather was planting there for 40+ years with good results) but the kohlrabi bulbs and beets don't seem to be growing. They are in full sun and I water them every day or every other day depending how dry the soil is.

I planted them May 10 this year so I would expect them to be harvestable by now. Only one of my kohlrabi (out of about 4 rows) actually made a big bulb (it was the last row on a corner if that matters) and the other ones are pretty small. The same with my beets, most are less than one inch wide but I can see their shoulders poking out. They all have healthy looking leaves, but the actual bulb/beet is not getting bigger size. Is there something I can do to make them grow better?? The one kohlrabi I harvested was sooooo delicious and I want more, lol

Any advice is welcome!!! Thanks

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

You're trying to grow cool-season veggies during hot weather, if I understand the current temps in Pennsylvania. Beets and kohlrabi flourish in the spring and the fall, but warm-weather veggies like corn, tomatoes, peppers, squash, and cucumbers are happier when the temperature runs to 70 degrees F and above.

Plant seeds or young seedlings in a few weeks for fall veggies.

Sorry...

Cynthia H.
Sunset Zone 17, USDA Zone 9

marley01
Newly Registered

Thank you!! I will try to replant closer to fall then. Maybe next year I will plant them earlier than May so they can finish before the weather gets too hot.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Do you know the date (average) of your last frost in the spring? You can plant kohlrabi a month before that date. Beets two weeks before that date.