mjgates
Newly Registered

What is eating my garden?

This problem started with the cucumber plants only, but I am now seeing it start to spread to other plants as well. Even those that are still really small like pepper plants and a couple watermelon recent sprouts I threw in very late. The following link will take you to a photobucket album with 11 pics of the different plants. This is my first year with a garden. A project my kids wanted to take on as a family this year. If anyone could tell what this is and how to treat it before I'm at total loss I would appreciate it.

[url]https://s1109.photobucket.com/albums/h430/Richmond_Rukus/Garden/[/url]

digitS'
Super Green Thumb

You have waited quite awhile for a response so let me take a shot at it. It looks like you may have a couple of things causing you trouble, mjgates. I would guess both flea beetles and slugs/snails. Since you aren't seeing what is eating on the plants, that kind of reinforces the idea that it's these 2 pests.

Slugs/snails often eat into plants from both the edges and the center of the leaf. Unlike the large holes they may leave, flea beetles make small holes and sometimes, just small pits in the leaves.

Flea beetles are tiny and if they are aware of you approaching they jump/fly/disappear. Slugs and snails come out at night and go back into hiding during the day. So, it is often difficult for the gardener to find these pests.

The plants don't look in terrible shape, however. Yes, there is damage but the production may not be dragged down by it. The plants don't look like they are dying or anywhere close to it.

You are right to be watchful. Look for those tiny black beetles during daylight hours and go out after dark with a flashlight to see if there are slugs.