paulnjgarden

What's up with these red onions?

[img]https://img6.imageshack.us/img6/7380/photo1xo.jpg[/img]

Check out the 6 onion bunches that definitely look different than the rest- those all happen to be red onions (while the rest are a mix of various regular/yellow onions).

Is that not enough water? Not enough sun? Are red onions much different than other onion varieties in terms of their water/sun/soil preferences?

As my signature indicates...I'm new at this.

Thanks!

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb

If that is suppose to be red onions, you have them planted in clusters and they likely won't do much. I would dig them up and separate them to individual plants and space them about 4 inches apart in all directions.

Think of it like this-----you go to the store and buy green onions in those bunches. If there is just a bit of root on those green onions, you can cut them up from the root end about 1 inch, put them in a cup with water for a couple days and they will start sending out roots. Take each individual stem and place them in the garden about 2 inches apart in all directions, keep them watered for a few days, and they will grow new green onion tops. I do this whenever I run low on green onions in the garden. Each one of the clusters you seem to have may be 8-10 or more red onion plants vying for space to grow. Separate them and see how things turn out.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Hard to say with the info given.

What are they planted in?
What is that which looks like black plastic?
Have you set these out in the garden still in tight little clumps?
Would they happen to be in peat pots?

More info please.

DeborahL
Green Thumb

Gumbo, I'm going to root green onions ! Neat idea !
I tried to root grocery store spearmint but no dice. It must have been treated because as we know NOTHING stops mint. Or usually nothing.
Would parsley stems root in water?

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb