Aya

I think I might be overcrowded...reviews please!

Hey Everyone

You probably all remember that this is my first year gardening, and I jumped in eagerly with both feet before doing all my homework. (I'm also the one who had my dog eat my entire garden a little while back)
Anyhow, I was out perusing my plants today, and I'm wondering - I think I might be a bit overcrowded. DH said I could have a big garden if we get this place on some land that we're looking at, and I want to make sure to do things the right way when I get there. So my planter is 8'x2'x1' and I have:

8 Strawberries
5-6 Loose leaf lettuce
3 Swiss chard
12 Carrots
1 Shallot
3 Broccoli
4 Peas (Sugar snap and little marvel)
2 Pumpkin (Bad idea right?)
1 Cherry tomato
1 Cherokee Purple tomato
2 Roma tomatoes
1 Green Bell Pepper
1 Cucumber

Sounds like a lot to me..
[img]https://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p121/WereAya/Garden1.jpg[/img]
[img]https://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p121/WereAya/Garden2.jpg[/img]

Also, I posted the thread about shallots - wondering what they look like when ready for harvesting. I've used a little of the green shoots as "green onions" for dinner one night, but this is what my 1 shallot looks like - any advice? I don't see any signs of the stalks or anything that everyone says it sends up that contain the shallots...
[img]https://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p121/WereAya/Scallion.jpg[/img]

Any advice would be super helpful :lol:

Bobberman
Super Green Thumb

Pumpkin is fine if it grows away from the bed like up the fence! Looks very good . I would put the peppers close to the white fence for reflected light!

Aya

My one little pepper plant is actually almost directly in front of the white lattice fencing : )

(Completely un-intentional) :lol:

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb