edreed20

How Many Peppers will Habanero and Ghost Pepper Produce?

I'm growing 2 habaneros (1 scorpion trinidad, and a yellow trinidad) plus a Ghost pepper this year, it's my first year growing these and I'm wondering how many peppers each plant will produce. :?:

stella1751
Greener Thumb

I've never grown the Ghost, but I've grown a quite a few Habaneros. Their production is dependent upon your season length and warmth. Last year, we had a cold spring and a cool June. Habaneros need hot days, so I suppose I got only two or three dozen mature peppers per plant by the end of October.

In past years, when they got more of those hot days that they love, I suppose I got as many as five dozen mature peppers per plant. I'll bet gardeners in hot, long-season climates get much, much more. I don't know what it's like in Baltimore, but Wyoming's growing season can be pretty short.

I'm trying them again this year. There was a great thread in this forum last year about making chili powder. I tried it and blew it, so I want to try it again :wink:

nosta

I havent grown the Ghost....yet. I usually get around 50-60 peppers per habanero plant per season. I usually dry half of them in a food dehydrator to grind into powder, make hot sauce with the other half.

soil
Greener Thumb

I grew one habanero plant 2 seasons ago. I still have 4 bags of peppers frozen. the 2ft tall plant had to produce at least 200 of the little devils.

ThePepperSeed
Cool Member

edreed20 wrote:I'm growing 2 habaneros (1 scorpion trinidad, and a yellow trinidad) plus a Ghost pepper this year, it's my first year growing these and I'm wondering how many peppers each plant will produce. :?:
Depends on how you are growing the plants - location, start date, weather, nutes, etc, etc. I grow my bhut jolokias (ghost peppers) in the ground in raised beds. Last year the plants topped 5 feet and produced - I'm estimating here - 125 pods per plant.