Aya

How much space would you recommend?

Hey Guys, this is my first year with gardening space and I think I might be a little overzealous, but here's what I'd like to grow:

Tomatillo
Cherry Tomatoes
Red Lightning Tomatoes
Basil
Cilantro
Thyme
Oregano
Catnip
Tarragon
Parsley
Rosemary
Chives
Celery
Grand Bell Peppers
Broccoli
Spinach
Flowering Kale
Lettuce(Summer Crisp, Romaine, and Black Seed)
Swiss Chard(Flamingo)
Scallions
Carrots(Chantenay & Kaleidoscope)
Sugar Pod Peas
Little Marvel Peas
Black Eyed Peas
Sweet Corn
Cantaloupe
Crimson Sweet Watermelon
Sweet Sugar Pie Pumpkin
Big Max Pumpkin
Lavender
Potatoes (Red, Russet and Purple Majesty)
Shallots

And then a few flowers:

Grandpa Ott Morning Glory
Columbine
Shasta Daisy
Forget-me-not
And...Dahlias

I also had some brambles started (Blackberries, Raspberries and Blueberries) but my puppy ripped them out of the ground so I'm pretty sure they're toast :cry:

My fiance was being nice and built me a raised bed, but..its a little tall. Current size is 8'x2'x4' which I know isn't enough room to grow all of this...any ideas or advice?
Last edited by Aya on Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

2000 square feet would be about right. A 40 X 50 plot.
Gardening at 5000 feet elevation, zone 4/5 Northern Utah, Frost free from May 25 to September 8 +/-

Aya

Wow - I think that's the size of my entire back yard :o

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb

Aya, what part of the world you live in? Some of what you've mentioned will not do so well in a hot climate if you are planning on planting it anytime soon.

I've had no success with spinach, broccoli, some lettuces and even parsley if in direct sun in my growing zone (9).