Des_WA

What do you really know about your soil history?

I'm a geologist by trade and work at an environmental consulting firm; our main business is doing characterization and cleanups of contaminated properties of all sorts - gas stations, dry cleaners, residential properties, old farms, etc. Most people are very surprised at what businesses "cause" contamination in our soil and groundwater and it's definitely true that most people I've talked to on the street and asking what we're doing don't think about soil/water contamination in general, much less its potential impact on their lives or properties.

It is unfortunately becoming more apparent that even residences that may not at first glance appear to have any contamination sources have high levels of things like lead, arsenic, and petroleum products/constituents from car exhaust, heating oil tanks, or being downwind of things like historic orchards, paper mills, coal mills, or metal foundries. Scary stuff.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/experts-urge-soil-testing-after-some-urban-gardens-found-tainted-with-lead-other-chemicals/2011/03/23/ABm7P4GB_story.html

digitS'
Super Green Thumb

I had the soil tested around the house a year ago. Of course, there was lead - this house is over 100 years old. Siding went on about 10 years ago. I don't know if that was a good thing, or not. Plastic was put down all around the house and that was covered with a bark mulch.

When we first moved here 15 years ago, the house had just lost its owners who lived here for nearly 60 years. The gentleman had died and his wife moved to a nursing home. The house was renovated after this and then put on the market.

That spring, I dug up the garden. There was a huge glob of paint buried in there. It was still quite elastic so I assume it was latex and dumped there after the renovation by one of the workers - thanks a lot!