fouriron4
Newly Registered

Growing Potatoes - Seed Potatoes

Is it possible to use supermarket potatoes (organic) to be used as my seed potatoes. I know regular potatoes in the stores are sprayed with an retardant to inhibit eyes from sprouting. I did not know this until I went online and found out.

Are organic potatoes retardant free thus making them able to use to plant and grow a new crop? This is my first year for planting potatoes.

Do I need to just buy seed potatoes. Kinda expensive $$$$

When I was growing up my father (organic only) would use the potatoes he grew and held these over in the basement for planting next year.

Nowadays We have to really watch what companies add to our food to enhance the look of their products with chemicals.

Thanks
Ted

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

Is it possible to use supermarket potatoes (organic) to be used as my seed potatoes. I know regular potatoes in the stores are sprayed with an retardant to inhibit eyes from sprouting. I did not know this until I went online and found out.
Yes

Are organic potatoes retardant free thus making them able to use to plant and grow a new crop? This is my first year for planting potatoes.
Not sure, One would think so.

Do I need to just buy seed potatoes. Kinda expensive $$$$
NO and yes on the $$

When I was growing up my father (organic only) would use the potatoes he grew and held these over in the basement for planting next year.
I do this and I think it's the best way to grow, go.

Nowadays We have to really watch what companies add to our food to enhance the look of their products with chemicals.
I agree 100% and People too :wink:

Eric

Ozark Lady
Greener Thumb

My bags of potatoes from the grocery store are sprouting, like crazy. When you see this, you know they can grow.

I did have sweet potatoes, that rotted rather than sprout.

So, watch for sprouting, before planting.

rkunsaw