John K
Newly Registered

Newb questions.

I'm a total newby at gardening! This is the first time I've planed anything. I am very much looking forward to having some yummy home grown foods though! I have a few basic questions.

I have read that you should plant several seeds in each hole to increase likelyhood of germination. I planted eight cucomber plants 3-4 weeks ago. Well, all eight of them started growing, so I have two little plants in each of the spots I planted them. At this point should I trim the smaller of the two at each spot, or just leave them? I read I should trim the "runt", but my fiance insists that we leave all eight lol.

We also planted pumpkin, and watermellon. Only three pumpkin plants germinated though, and 4-5 watermellon. When they start to produce fruit, what is the best thing to put under the fruit for support to prevent it from rotting or getting dirt spots? Also Should we be adding fertilizer to the dirt, or is that something we should have done before we planted?

I am sure I will have more questions sooner or later, in the mean time, thank you all in advance for any help, it is most appreciated!

John K

p.s. I have terrible spalling, and couldnt find a spell checker (at work) so sorry in advance for that lol.

Avonnow
Green Thumb