staceyv

BOK CHOY/PAC CHOY

Hi there, I am a newbie so I will probably take over all the questions for a little while till I learn. I had planted some bok choy and pac choy in a greenhouse. It grew really weird, was tall and spindly and went to flower. It looked nothing like bok choy, I feed it every week with a liquid food, I mulched it, I watered it. I certainly didnt sing to it, but I did have some quiet chats over the weeks. Any ideas?

applestar
Mod

Sounds like it got too hot and went straight to flower (bolted). What were the daytime high and night time low temps in your greenhouse when this happened?

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Tall and spindly says not enough light.
It is hard to grow plants indoors and get them to produce food.
They really do much better in the garden with full sunlight.
Green houses are certainly useful in growing seedlings for
later planting out when the weather permits.

staceyv

oh dear, I bought the greenhouse specifically to grow veges :( how disappointing. temps are between 15-18 at night and around 25 during the day, although we have had some stinkers and the heat gets up to 35 on some days.

digitS'
Super Green Thumb

I think it would be quite difficult to grow a cool-season crop like bok choy during an Australian summer in a greenhouse. Certainly not impossible but the air conditioning requirements would be high.

I was just looking at flowering schedules for potted ornamentals growing in a greenhouse. It took 62 days at 14°C during the springtime for the plants to bloom. However, only 42 days at 17°C were needed before blooming. And, the plants bloomed in 30 days 20°C and 26 days at 23°C.

Now, it was desirable for these plants to bolt because the intention was to sell them in bloom. It may, however, have difficult to control their exuberance in bolting at 23°C. After all, flowering occurred more than twice as soon as at 14°C. They may have been quite spindly.