Desirai
Cool Member

Advice for a newbie, please?

well. hello there!!!

if any of you noticed I have been nurturing a single pepper plant for about 4 months.

I am proud.

I am also inspired to grow vegetables in 2011. (happy 2011 btw)

Do any of you have advice on starter plants?

You know.. plants that I might not be able to kill easily. Haha.

I've grown tomatoes and now this pepper pant. Also I grew 3 sunflowers that exceeded 7 ft a few years ago. Those sunflowers are what got me really into gardening. They inspired me to start a garden (which became a jungle. our front porch was quickly swallowed by about 10 different bushes, a bunch of vines and dozens of different flowers.)

So.. heelp? :)

I live in Alabama which I think is zone 7.

Avonnow
Green Thumb

Well are you going to do it in the ground, or in pots on your patio / in home. It will probably make a difference what others suggest. I live in Florida, so I assume you probably have colder weather then me, so hopefully someone farther north can make suggestions on what to start and when. If they are inside you may have more options to start earlier. Let us know. :D

Halfway
Green Thumb

Cilantro.

Beat it.

Slap it around.

Call it names.

Trim it to butt-ugly.

It will stand tall and when it has had it's fun as Cilantro, it will turn into Coriander.

:lol:

Odd Duck

Halfway wrote:Cilantro.

Beat it.

Slap it around.

Call it names.

Trim it to butt-ugly.

It will stand tall and when it has had it's fun as Cilantro, it will turn into Coriander.

:lol:
Might not be quite so easy in Alabama. Cilantro can't take the heat, so it can be a bit trickier down south than you might think. Bolts if you look at it cross-eyed (but obviously still useful as coriander).

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb