ladybug0405
Newly Registered

Cucumber black bugs!

Hi there! I am brand new to this foram, and need some gardening help :)

My cucumbers have tiny black bugs all over the underside of the leaves, though the leaves are still ok now, I'm afraid they will eat/destroy the leaves and then no more cucumber :( How do I get rid of them?

Also my cabbage/brocolli and cauli's are all looking a bit sad, with some leaves half dead. Is this caused by bugs or too much rain or not enough sun?

Is there a cheap and easy spray to put over all my garden that will gte rid of all critters and keep my garden healthy?

Thanks!

Avonnow
Green Thumb

Are they super small like little black dots, if so they sound like aphids to me. I had them all over my cucmbers and while I have read alot here on them, they seem to come from out of no-where. I mean I know they don't but I never seeing them crawling anywhere, they just seem to appear overnight on my plants. If they are really tiny, they may be aphids - insecticidal soap worked for me, I had to spray every leaf. I actually made a tub of soap water and basically washed each leaf to get them off. They also will come off with water from the hose , but they re-appear quickly, the soap kept them away for awhile, but it was very hard getting each leave. Also do it early in the am, or late at night, if the sun is hot it will burn the leaves. Now that it is cold here in Fl, the cucumbers for me have died away. Good Luck, if they are not aphids, I hope you can get more info on them, maybe post a picture. :D

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

ladybug0405 wrote:

Is there a cheap and easy spray to put over all my garden that will gte rid of all critters and keep my garden healthy?