smellykitty
Newly Registered

Rinsing Veggies?

Hi! I'm new to gardening, veggies and I'm usually paranoid about tiny microscopic bugs.

I've just harvested my first carrots and radishes. Is rinsing these root veggies with water enough to clean them for direct consumption? Or do I need a vegetable rinser/peel the skin/cook em?

thanks!
:o

digitS'
Super Green Thumb

I bet lots of new gardeners have concerns like this.

It might help to think about how we got where we are. I don't mean in the last 50 or 100 years. How about the last 50 or 100 generations? More generations of humans lived completely without knowledge of microscopic life than have lived in the few short years since Leeuwenhoek and his microscope.

Ours is a very successful species living in every corner of Earth. For the most part, we got there with a very limited technology.

I always rinse the vegetables that I bring into the kitchen - usually, rinsing them outside first. Store-bought veggies, I may even use dish soap to clean them. Some people have wondered about that but I also use dish soap on my dishes . . . so, this seems reasonable. I may use the same scrubber to clean some veggies that I use for cleaning the dishes. Peel things, yes - most fruits and vegetables I prefer peeled.

Now that I have said all that -- my garden vegetables are wholesome food. I am not nearly as sure that store-bought produce is either wholesome or safe. I am far from sure that processed food is either wholesome or safe.

I am 100% more interested in eating produce from my own garden than elsewhere.

Steve :)

applestar
Mod

Ha! I feel the same way. I think about how many hands the produce in the stores have handled them and where they might have been. How the veggies were processed and shipped and how they were grown....