jmoore

Observations from this year - so far

1. The heat this year is majorly stressing my garden. Tomatos, green beans and cukes are the worst hit. I trimmed the tom's WAY back and am hoping to hold on for a good fall harvest.
2. Freaking hornworms! :grrr:
3. Freaking leafminers! :grrr:
4. Jalapenos are going like gangbusters.
5. Black eyed peas and okra are doing well too.
6. Yard long asian beans are ugly plants but keep chugging along. They are fun to grow but not my favorite to eat.
7. I should have listened to the advise in the tomato support thread. The short, cone shaped cages are virtually worthless when your plants are 7' tall. New concrete mesh cages will be built next year.
8. I have been thinking this year was a bust. When I compare it to last years harvest, I'm way up in quantity in the same space. So I must be doing something right.
9. I still feel like a total newbie with this garden stuff.
10. I've been swamped with life and I miss posting here. There is too much good info I'm missing out on.

edit: should have posted this in the Vegetable Gardening forum.

applestar
Mod

Done. :wink:

jmoore

applestar wrote:Done. :wink:
Thanks!

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb

jmoore, looks like you have company with the heat stress issue. Same here in New Orleans. Very hot this summer and we've been hit with heavy daily rainfalls for the past 10 days or so.

My tomato plants got so shabby looking, I opted to just pull them and put in some new ones--------however, I now have to wait till the garden dries out a bit to put in my rows. I already have 2 dozen tomato plants to put in for the fall. I went with 2x2 poles for tomato support this past spring but have a roll of 10 gauge Concrete Reinforcing Wire that measures 5' x 150' to make my cages.

I like your observation on the Asian yard long beans. They are a bit ugly, and like you, my wife doesn't really like them much, but I do. I planted some more Kentucky Wonders for her to munch on.