razzyberry77
Newly Registered

Cucumber Plants dying

Hi, I'm new here, thank you for having me.

This is my first year planting a garden so I probably made alot of mistakes.

But my main issue is cucumbers.

I planted 4 mounds with cucumber seeds, just a packet I got from Pike nursery. I'm not sure the variety because I threw the pack away but its the dark green skin ones like y ou get in the grocery store. Not pickling and not english.

They are planted in organic soil mixture and I added some eb stone vegetable food a couple times.

They did really good for a couple months. Then all of sudden it started dying. Everyday I have to cut leaves off. Mainly towards the bottom of the planet.

I have been searching for the answer and found out theres a beetle that attacks these plants. I did see some beatles eating the leaves but they looked roundish, like large lady bugs. They didnt seem to be the longish body cucumber beatle but it could have been.

I am still getting cucumbers with my remaining plants, because the tops are in ok shape but I have lost 2 vines completely.

Ive taken a couple pictures and I hope the answer is obvious so I can avoid this next year.

thank you for your help

[img]https://i25.tinypic.com/143nti0.jpg[/img]

[img]https://i26.tinypic.com/jfdzsl.jpg[/img][/img]

hit or miss
Green Thumb

The leaves in the first picture look awfully wilted to me. Water the heck out of them and see if they perk up.

Richee

Yeah, you need to water Cucumbers a lot.

I've read somewhere that they are 90% water, so they're gonna need lots of water to grow.

tedln
Super Green Thumb