imnewatthis2010

Can someone check my pumpkins?

I'm new at gardening and this is my first time growing pumpkins. I planted at the end of May and right now have 1 small pumpkin starting (This particular plant I started 3 weeks before the others in a small jar, so that's why it's ahead of the others I think).

But I'm not too sure if I planted them too close together or in a small area, as some leaves are dying,wilting,getting white mildew and turning yellow. I uploaded some pictures of the various stages from first planting up until today, along with some close ups of the leaves.

When I planted I just cleared out the grass and weeds and mixed the dirt in with gardening soil, I've also been spraying it with a organic vegetable fertilizer that connects to my hose nozzle.

Please Note: The white stuff on there now is due from the powdered pesticide (sevin) that I just sprinkled on there. Also I covered the small patch with a tarp as it's been storming the past 2 days(should I cover it up or leave it be?), but other than that the weather has been very hot and dry, I water once a day around noon. Any tips on how to get these things healthy or anything else? Thanks

Heres the pictures: https://home-and-garden.webshots.com/album/578240232GBGFEJ

Let me know if you need anymore info. Thanks

kgall

I certainly can't answer all of you're questions but...I would water early morning, preferably without getting the leaves wet if possible, this will help to hold powdery mildew at bay. I would also cut out all of the affected leaves.
Good luck!

imnewatthis2010

Thank you very much. Now do I cut where the leaf is or do I cut the whole stem off down to where it sprouts out of the ground?

engineeredgarden
Green Thumb

The damage to this leaf is from too much water in the past - perhaps from a torrential downpour in your area. It's the cause for the damage to the laeves in the other pictures, too.