lilcee

Tired of the worms

Worms are taking over my garden. I had to pull up my beans because I couldn't get rid of them and the plants were dying.
Now today, I noticed that one of the blossoms on my sweet potatoes had a worm in it.
How do I get rid of the worms?
I've sprayed Neem but it doesn't seem to be helping.
This is my first time growing sweet potatoes. Do the blossoms fall off after they open? I was wondering because that's what mine did. They opened one day and the next day, they were on the ground. Is that normal?
Thanks

sassyjvg

Wow, I never thought I'd hear someone make such a declaration, especially since I just bought :P my first pound(red wigglers)! You make me want to go out and peek underground at my growing sweet potatoes and see whats going on underground. I hope things get better soon.
~Now I know tis the forever truth that "God made dirt so dirt don't hurt". It has already been kissed up to God~

~If you don't stand for something you'll fall for anything~

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I'm guessing lilcee means worms in the sense of inchworms, caterpillers, hornworms, cutworms (i.e. bad guys), not in the sense of earthworms.

Diatomaceous earth is good against crawlers like that.
Twitter account I manage for local Sierra Club: https://twitter.com/CherokeeGroupSC Facebook page I manage for them: https://www.facebook.com/groups/65310596576/ Come and find me and lots of great information, inspiration

sassyjvg

:oops: :oops: :oops: Seems I still have plenty to learn. :?
~Now I know tis the forever truth that "God made dirt so dirt don't hurt". It has already been kissed up to God~

~If you don't stand for something you'll fall for anything~

Ozark Lady
Greener Thumb

Lilcee, try some Bt to mix with water and spray on your plants.
It is organic, won't hurt other species, just the worms that eat your plants.