gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

It's getting to be garlic time people.

I know it's not time to plant garlic but it is getting to be time to buy garlic if needed.

I'm still kicking myself in the butt for waiting too long last year. When I went to order myself some garlic everybody was sold out. So trying to get a jump on this season how do you all go about it?

This is my first year with garlic (and boy was I stupid for waiting this long) I planted some I got form the grocery store last fall, since everyone was sold out. I worked that section of the garden this spring since I didn't see any growth only to find it was growing and I acted too soon. So I bought some from Lowe's and planted this spring so far I have harvested some small bulbs. I actually used some last night and it was good but the bulb was roughly quarter sized. I want huge bulbs.

So what are your favorite suppliers and what are your favorite varieties? This year I want it to go good. So any help would be great. I know a lot of other people are thinking this same thing. So let's get the garlic thread cracking.

Dang I love garlic. :D

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

Well, I would have to vote for "Music" a hardneck garlic. :D

[img]https://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h300/eric_wa/DSC02406.jpg[/img]

It produces a very good scape and fairly large bulb. I've been growing it for 8 years. My supplier was my brother and I think his came from Territorial Seed Co. https://www.territorialseed.com/product/1302/26

Here, we plant late October through November. They grow to a couple inches tall, then winter over. I harvested my crop about a week ago.

Eric

gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

Thanks Eric I keep seeing "Music" as being a favorite even after I looked at catalogs and thought of it as being something I would like to try. Another one I see a lot of is Chesnok Red.

Great harvest I must add. If you put all mine together they might add up to one of those. :lol: :oops: