shady plot
Newly Registered

Fall crop

Hello all, newbie here with a question. I'm about to start some beans, brocoli and cauliflower for my fall crop. Last time I attempted to start seeds on my own it didn't go well. I had my light source to high I've since discovered after searching this forum.
Anyway, is there anything special I need to know to start my seeds? I'm using peat pellets for the broc, and caul. and for the beans I'm gonna start them in dixie cups.
Also I have daylight bulbs in my fixture(6400 kelvin). Would it be better to use the plant bulb which is a much cooler 3000 kelvin? I figure that the closest thing to daylight would be best.

Btw, I work in an electrical supply house so please excuse my lamp temp. jargon.

Thanks,
Craig

lorax
Greener Thumb

The 6400 K daylight-equivalent is fine, but what you need to consider is that many seeds (especially beans) need a dark cycle too, in order to sprout well. I'd go with a 12h on - 12h off rotation if I were you. I'd also maybe consider the cooler-running flourescent lamps if your instruments will take them, because the heat from incandescents, especially the higher K ones, can dry out a peat pot in a matter of about 30 minutes, which brings me to...

The other thing you might want to think about is using a zip-baggie type unit overtop of your peat pellets to keep the moisture in - peaties are notorious for drying out really quickly, which will set your seeds back. :shock:

Hope this helps :D

(and please excuse my lamp jargon as well, I'm a lighting technician....:)

applestar
Mod

We've been talking about planting fall crops here: https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27513