CrazyLin
Newly Registered

SEED PACKET INSTRUCTIONS (IN SPAIN)

Good afternoon from Cocentaina (Spain) I am new to this site so please be gentle with me. :? I am growing various varieties of tomatoes but none of the packets advise whether they are bush or cordon types. There are English and Spanish details on the back of the packet like when to sow, transplant and harvest but not height! I have tried googling (is that how you spell it) but to no avail. :( Some of the plants have got HUGE tomatoes on them so I must be doing something right. My husband and I moved here last September so this is my first year at veggie gardening in Spain. I am looking forwards to scouting around this site. keep happy - I am :lol:

garden5
Super Green Thumb

Welcome the the Helpful Gardener :D.

I'm not exactly sure what you mean by your question. Are you wondering which plants will grow large and which will stay more compact (I think you are)?

Read the packet and looks for the word "determinate" or "indeterminate." If the plant is the determinate type, it will stay smaller, and usually produce all of its fruit at once and then stop producing.

If it's indeterminate, it will keep growing and setting fruit until the frost or disease kills it.

I hope this helps :).

CrazyLin
Newly Registered

Many thanks for your response. Just one more question - sorry - :roll: The indeterminate - are these the ones that I have to pinch out the side shoots? :oops: My veggies are suffering a bit in this Spanish heat. Temperatures up to 49 degrees C the other day. I have to be careful with the water. I will have to re-think what I grow next year I think... :?

webmaster
Site Admin

Hi, :)

Welcome to our forum. Just wanted to let you know that a distinguishing feature of this forum is the politeness and civility of our forum members, in addition to the sense of community and helpfulness. I know other forums can be harsh but we try to cultivate a more civil community.